Cycling and the Art of Observation

So the blogging begins.  I have been meaning to do this for awhile now.  I wasn’t sure that anybody would read it or if I would have anything to say.  None of that really matters.  What matters is that I do say what I need to say, or just want to say, when I have a thought worth sharing to someone.  Journaling didn’t really work for me.  It was tedious and I felt guilty for not writing daily; and who would really know if I didn’t write a thing?  Blogging, though, allows me to actually share thoughts and observations with the possibility of feedback and some sense of accountability.  Plus, journaling and blogging presume someone will read your stuff one day, and no one, myself included, can read my hand writing.

What to expect from my blog. . . .

1. Brutal Honesty

2. A Little Humor

3. Lots of Philosophy. . . or not (maybe none at all)

4. Maybe some Theorems

5. Suggestions for Living (mostly for me)

6. Things I See

7. And What It has All Taught Me . . . hopefully I paid attention

And it shall all, somehow, relate to the wonderful world of competitive cycling. 

Why cycling?  Only the cyclist would understand, but maybe this will give you an insight to this strange and wonderful world.  Why not any of my other “circles”?  Well, lawyers already know it all, just ask them, and don’t really learn from each other’s lives.  Why not a religious audience?  Largely the same reason.  It is a shame on both accounts.  Why not politics or social issues?  There is way too much of that out there already, and who really cares what I have to say about that any way?  I am not sure I care what I have to say about politics.  I know that I don’t know enough to be any type of authority, so you probably shouldn’t listen to me.  

Its not that this will not include many posts regarding the law, my work, my beliefs or religious type topics, for it certainly will.  It must, for that is who I am. It is simply that the bike is common ground for us all. All are human on the bike. You can be the best lawyer, greatest theologian, or even the greatest cyclist, but be sure, that pedal-powered, two-wheeled contraption will humble us all.

I just want to speak to people who are dealing with everyday life and aren’t scared to admit that it is hard.  Sometimes the hard thing is a 27mph head wind, and sometimes it is the death of a dear relative.  I hope to be funny and entertaining most of the time, but I will surely do my best to share my heart and express my thoughts and emotions with honesty and clarity.  Hopefully I, and you, will learn something along the way.

SDG

~ by Velosophy Esq. on March 31, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
