One Wedding and a Funeral

After 1600 miles of driving last week, I am just now getting to a new post. 

I am sure glad I was able to make it to see my family following my grandpa’s death.  I was even more glad to be there for my dad, who doesn’t cope well with things.  We all had to take the bold step of going to the funeral home together to see grandpa.  That was extremely hard for all of us, but I was glad they got him ready for me. 

After the viewing, my dad and I drove around the small town and he told me stories of him growing up in a place that is still a decade behind where we are today.   We had some good talks about the dignity of human life and our survival instinct.  And most importantly, where such an instinct may come from.  After we had our time, I said goodbye to my relatives and headed south to re-pack my bags and head to the Texas Hill Country for a wedding.

It was not just any wedding, it was the wedding of one of our best friends.  She is like my little sister.  It was the most beautiful wedding I have ever been to.  I have never been so thankful for such a friend in all my life.  Seeing her so happy and so loved by a good man was encouraging as a surrogate big brother and as a father.  Her faith has grown so much in the past couple of years and it was awesome to see her realize that God does have her best interests at heart. 

What an amazing week.  To see good endings and great beginnings is such a blessing.  They happen every day, though usually in a less obvious way, so we should have our eyes open for them and be thankful for them.

~ by Velosophy Esq. on April 8, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
